cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New User Natalie120458

Natalie120458
SMARTY Pioneer
SMARTY Pioneer

Hi I'm new to smarty, but in saying this I am already going through some issues with the service provider. Such as it continuously keep saying 'Emergency calls only' it's driving me crazy as the data package has already started and I can't even use it or make a phone call.

HELP!!!! 

12 REPLIES 12

JJP2RidesAgain
SMARTY Motivator
SMARTY Motivator

This is the Smarty community forum, we are fellow customers, we don’t work for Smarty.

It looks  like your phone is network locked to a network other than Smarty, hence the “emergency calls only”

How old is the phone ? Phones in the UK haven’t been network locked for a good few years. 

Or, it may be that you have no coverage on Three, Smarty’s parent network, where you are. Did you check this before joining Smarty ?

Do you have, or can you quickly use someone else’s phone for 5 minutes, putting your SIM card in that, to see what happens ? If your SIM connects to Smarty in another phone, then that would indicate that your phone is indeed network locked. If you know the phone was originally used successfully on another network, be it O2, EE, Vodafone, if you can, try a SIM card from the phone’s original network. If it works, that’s another indication that your phone is network locked to a network other than Three / Smarty.

Also only a year and a half old. It's an android. 

MSF
SMARTY Genius
SMARTY Genius

@Natalie120458  You definitely haven't purchased a data only package?

No, how do I upload screen shots??? I got the 100gb data with unlimited calls and texts

@Natalie120458  A few things to try:

Firstly, does your account dashboard show that you have an active sim (mobile number will be showing) and also an active Smarty plan?

Secondly, did you do a Coverage check for your area before joining and also a Network Status check to ensure no local mast problem?