cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Is there a way to move your number away from Smarty, but keep your account with a new SIM?

marcosscriven
SMARTY Pioneer
SMARTY Pioneer

I'd like to use my main number with another provider (by using a PAC code), but also keep my Smarty account with a new SIM/number.

Support tell me this isn't possible, and that if ever I want another Smarty SIM, I'd have to use a different email address (which is not impossible, but inconvenient).

They also said this was the industry standard thing to do, which makes me feel like they've just misunderstood.

Has anyone done this, or know the real reason it's not possible? As a software engineer myself, it sounds like it's the sort of thing their database just isn't setup for that, and customer service people can only tell customers the workaround.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

George
SMARTY Moderator SMARTY Moderator
SMARTY Moderator

Hi @marcosscriven the best workaround for this would be after your number is transferred away to contact our Support Team who can wipe your email - you can then set up a new account with the same email (make sure auto-renew is off on your original account). 

When you transfer your number away we can't set back up the same account - as we would normally do this with the number you have stopped using. @BarrySa_1772508 is also correct with the nickname SIM, but if you would rather a cleaner account then the scrub would be the best option for you.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

PeterC
SMARTY Maverick
SMARTY Maverick

How about adding a second SIM to your Smarty accout and then asking for a PAC code of the first SIM? Not sure if it would work or whether the account is linked to the first SIM you got.

Jomac
SMARTY Commentator
SMARTY Commentator

The simple answer is yes!