cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Data usage

SarahSm_2045557
SMARTY Maverick
SMARTY Maverick

Hi, I am new with smarty and opted for 4G of data. I was previously with 3 and barely reached 4G ever in 5+ years. Just once I think when I was on holiday it was close but I have never went over.

First week with Smarty I ran out of data in less than 1 week. I don’t watch or download films/music from my phone especially when out and about. Mostly email/messages/WhatsApp/maps but nothing excessive at all and no change since moving from 3. Any ideas in what’s happening? Any guidance? 

12 REPLIES 12

MSF
SMARTY Guru
SMARTY Guru

@SarahSm_2045557 . First thing to do is to check on your account usage history. it will show how much data you used each day and that may give a clue.

If your phone did an app or operating system upgrade, that might account for a lot of data.

Thanks for the tip. I have looked in the history and yes it does show that in 2 days I used nearly half my data. The thing is my behaviours haven’t changed so previously I was with 3 and had the same amount of data per month. I tracked it to see my useage and it was never really near using it all. Just once I think when I was in holiday. So this seems extreme to have used it all in a week. It just doesn’t add up!!!!

@SarahSm_2045557 It may also be possible to look on the device to see where data has been used in a given period. (Works on iPhone)

JJP2
SMARTY Pro-coach
SMARTY Pro-coach

In addition to what @MSF has said, there could be several reasons for the increase in data usage.

Have you purchased a new 5G phone, when previously you had a 3G or 4G device. The increased speeds of 5G can potentially lead to higher data usage.

Operating system updates, and Apple or Google maps app updates can use a lot of data.