cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Externally Accessible Public IP address.

the_owl_0v0
SMARTY Maverick
SMARTY Maverick

I have services running on my home network that I would like to be able to access from outside my home (local smart home, SSH access, NAS, OpenVPN Server Etc).  I run the necessary equipment (I work in IT) but the Smarty service IP does not route back to my connection ether via a DDNS service or by directly entering it.  Sometimes it's even an IP on the reserved "local" range of 10.x.x.x

While I appreciate many mobile customers would not require this, there are many who are unable to get a "traditional" wired internet service and use this as their primary home/business internet service who would.

I would be happy to pay an extra pound or two for a routable dynamic IPv4, and a little more for a static one I could use in bridge mode.

If this was available I could recommend this for a number of personal/business applications to my friends, family and customers.

Am I alone on this? Can anyone think of other use cases that would make it a viable service for Smarty to provide?

8 REPLIES 8

PeterC
SMARTY Maverick
SMARTY Maverick

No - I found the same when I switched to Smarty. Had me confused for a while why I couldn't connect to my VPN. It's called Carrier grade NAT: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carrier-grade_NAT

PeterC
SMARTY Maverick
SMARTY Maverick

No you'er not alone. I found the same when I switched to Smarty. Had me confused for a while why I couldn't connect to my VPN. It's called Carrier grade NAT: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carrier-grade_NAT 

Bangalooey
SMARTY Rookie
SMARTY Rookie

Only option is to leave and find a civilised network that doesn't constantly change IP addresses, unfortunately. Which is exactly what I'm about to do. Shame, excellent service otherwise.

ids
SMARTY Rookie
SMARTY Rookie

Have a look at Tailscale.  Free for single users.